The Chamber announces finalists for the 40th Annual Outstanding Business Awards (OBA’s)


The Chamber announces finalists for the 40th Annual Outstanding Business Awards (OBA’s)

Event will celebrate finalists & recipients with new, reimagined format on October 18th!

September 26, 2022

SAINT JOHN, NB – Today the finalists were announced for the Saint John Region Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Business Awards (OBA’s) being held at the Delta Hotel by Marriott Saint John on Tuesday, October 18th from 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm.

“In its 40th year, the OBAs serve as an ongoing opportunity to honour some of our region’s most dynamic businesses,” said David Duplisea CEO of The Chamber. “All of the nominees and finalists are significant contributors to the Saint John region’s business community and are great examples that we are always moving forward.”

Mr. Duplisea went on to explain “As one of the region’s longest standing awards ceremonies, we have heard from members that they love attending every year. We want to keep the ceremony exciting for them, and new attendees as well”. This year the OBAs will be a mix of live music, entertainment and videos highlighting the remarkable achievements of the nominees and winners. This year’s MC, Maestro Fresh Wes, will be joined by local band “What the Funk” and DJ Dennis Hunt. Title sponsor for the event is Envision Saint John- The Regional Growth Agency.

The annual awards gala honours the Saint John region’s top businesses in seven categories: Business Excellence, Entrepreneurial Achievement, Emerging Enterprise, Young Entrepreneur, Community Impact Award, Chair’s Award, and the Passion for Change award.

“We’re continuously inspired by the caliber of businesses and entrepreneurs in our community,” said Derrick Stanford, Chair of the Saint John Region Chamber of Commerce. “The OBA’s celebrate the growth that comes with creativity and hard work, especially since the pandemic. As the Champions for Business in our region, we’re thrilled to highlight and honour some of the many passionate and successful businesses in our community.”

This year’s recipient in the Business Excellence category is Razor Contract Manufacturing Limited. This award is open to larger, well-established companies of all sizes. It is expected that companies chosen by the judging panel to be considered for this award would tend to be larger, well-established firms.

In the category of Entrepreneurial Achievement, this year’s finalists are Elias Management Group, Laura Gatien & Associates Counselling Services Inc, and La Belle Cabane This award is given to a company or individual based on performance or achievement in starting or substantially changing, a business venture. While the judging should consider all areas of performance, the winner should exhibit an extra measure of entrepreneurial leadership, innovation, and creative responses to changing or new situations.

The nominees for the Emerging Enterprise award are Origins Natural Learning Childcare, TrojAI Inc, ProcedureFlow (Gemba Software Solutions). This award is given to a business in operation for 1-5 years, that is showing substantial promise for the future.

The recipient of the Passion for Change Award is Larry Hachey. The “Passion for Change” Award recognizes an individual who is passionate about our community and has demonstrated this through their participation in numerous initiatives, board positions and activities that have served to better our region over the years.

The Chair’s Award is presented annually to an organization or individual that demonstrated substantial long-term contribution to, or impact on, the economic progress and cultural fabric of the community. This year’s recipient is TD Commercial Banking.

The Young Entrepreneur Award is given each year to an individual who has shown great vision, creativity, and innovation in creating a business. This year’s Young Entrepreneur Award recipient is Palmer Dennison, Palmer Events

The Community Impact Award recognizes those who are working to make our community a better place. This year’s award will be given to Diana Alexander – Sculpture Saint John. This award is to recognize good corporate citizenship and individual volunteerism that is having a positive impact on our community. The Sculpture Symposium has created lasting tourism products for the region to enjoy for many years to come.

Also receiving special recognition this year for their economic and cultural contributions to our region are:

Marathon by the Sea (in its final year) Area 506 Container Village, Memorial Cup, and Port Saint John.

For additional information or to purchase tickets to the Outstanding Business Awards please call The Chamber at (506) 634-8111.